Marlins Club Awards

Celebrating our successes is important to the Marlins and every year we enjoy recognizing the achievements of our members at our annual presentation dinner. 

Current Marlins' Club Award Holders (2024)

Club Champion

Awarded based on points obtained in Masters Swinning Australia events

  • 2024 Female: Jan Jeffreys and Leigh Rodgers
  • 2024 Male: John Cocks

Best and Fairest

The winner is chosen by a secret ballot of members from the following criteria: - Participation in competition in MSA meets, aerobic & open water swims - Service to club members through leadership, motivation & encouragement - Participation in club activities such as training sessions & social events

  • 2024: Janette Dickey

Marlin Award

Awarded by the Committee to a non-committee club member who has made a significant contribution to the club

  • 2024: Carol Spencer-Gardner & Trevor Skinner

The McNeil Award

Awarded by the Session Leaders to a member who they consider has shown considerable improvement in technique and/or performance during the past year.

  • 2024: Brad Gurrie

Endurance Trophy

Awarded to the male and female members who score the most points for the year in the Vorgee Endurance 1000 competition.

  •  2024 Female: Nolene Schofield & Julie Collette
  •  2024 Male: John Cocks

    Open Water Award

    Open Water Award Male and Female winners are determined by a points system based on Greg Chaplin’s Model (VCS)

    • 2024 Female: Jan Jeffreys 
    • 2024 Male: Trevor Skinner

    Patrick Devine IM Trophy

    Closest to world record time* at the annual Malvern Marlins Interclub meet (* as determined by Meet Manager)

    • 2024 Interclub: John Cocks

    Celebrating Marlins with milestone memberships (2024)

    10 Year Members

    • Megan Grant
    • Brad Gurrie
    • Carol Spencer-Gardner
    • Bevan Vandersteen
    • Kevin Wheeler

    20 Year Members

    • Mark Barry
    • Daphne Briggs
    • Tony Burt
    • Susan Kempson
    • Allison Rochow

    30 Year Member

    • Peter Niere

    For further information on our historical award winners and the award criteria, see the full Marlins Awards